Sell Your Bike

2011 Tour de France

June 28, 2011
2011 Tour de France

The event that all cycling enthusiasts have been waiting for, the 98th instalment of the Tour De France is finally here! This year’s historic event is set to be one to remember as back to back champion Alberto Contador will defend his title against the likes of Australian champion Cadel Evans and Luxembourg’s young gun Andy Schleck.

Running from Saturday July 2nd to Sunday July 24th the 2011 Tour De France will be comprised of 21 stages and will cover an amazing 3,430.5 kilometres. The 2011 grand start will take place at Passage du Gois La Barre de Monts and will continue 191.5km to Mont des Alouettes Les Herbiers.

The entire 2011 route will comprise of 9 flat stages, 3 medium mountain stages, 6 high mountain stages, 2 time trial stages and 2 rest days. After a gruelling three weeks the riders will cross the finish line at the historic Paris Champs-Élysées.

The 2011 Tour de France route will surely separate the weak from the strong as the final high mountain stage of Modane Valfréjus to Alpe-d’Huez will be a difficult test for any champion. The climb of 2,566m will have all riders worried as tired legs and tired minds will show and every rider will have to fight to make the required time frame.

Australian favourite Cadel Evans will want retribution after last year’s race having suffered a fractured elbow eliminating his chances of claiming his first Tour De France title. Fierce rivals such as Andy Schleck, Vincenzo Nibali and Riccardo Ricco are only a few of the champions that are riding this year, making the 2011 Le Tour De France one not to miss.

Click here to enlarge image

2011 Tour De France Map













2011 Le Tour De France Stages

Stage Type Date Start and Finish Distance
1 Flat Saturday 2 July Passage du Gois La Barre de Monts > Mont des Alouettes Les Herbiers 191.5 km
2 Team TT Sunday 3 July Les Essarts > Les Essarts 23 km
3 Flat Monday 4 July Olonne sur Mer > Redon 198 km
4 Flat Tuesday 5 July Lorient > Mûr-de-Bretagne 172.5 km
5 Flat Wednesday 6 July Carhaix > Cap Fréhel 164.5 km
6 Flat Thursday 7 July Dinan > Lisieux 226.5 km
7 Flat Friday 8 July Le Mans > Châteauroux 218 km
8 Medium mountains Saturday 9 July Aigurande > Super-Besse Sancy 189 km
9 Medium mountains Sunday 10 July Issoire > Saint-Flour 208 km
Rest   Monday 11 July Le Lioran Cantal  
10 Flat Tuesday 12 July Aurillac > Carmaux 158 km
11 Flat Wednesday 13 July Blaye-les-Mines > Lavaur 167.5 km
12 High Mountains Thursday 14 July Cugnaux > Luz-Ardiden 211 km
13 High Mountains Friday 15 July Pau > Lourdes 152.5 km
14 High Mountains Saturday 16 July Saint-Gaudens > Plateau de Beille 168.5 km
15 Flat Sunday 17 July Limoux > Montpellier 192.5 km
Rest   Monday 18 July Département de la Drôme  
16 Medium mountains Tuesday 19 July Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux > Gap 162.5 km
17 High Mountains Wednesday 20 July Gap > Pinerolo 179 km
18 High Mountains Thursday 21 July Pinerolo > Galibier - Serre Chevalier 200.5 km
19 High Mountains Friday 22 July Modane Valfréjus > Alpe-d’Huez 109.5 km
20 Individual time-trial Saturday 23 July Grenoble > Grenoble 42.5 km
21 En ligne Sunday 24 July Créteil > Paris Champs-Élysées 95 km


Le Tour Favourites

1) Alberto Contador- A true cycling great who has won countless trophies establishing himself as the man to beat. This will be a hard task for any rider as Contador is going for his third consecutive Le Tour De France title and has just recently won this year’s Giro d’Italia. Alberto Contador
2) Andy Schleck- An up and coming rider who has already established himself as a top contender in all competitions, Andy Schleck will be Contadors biggest competition. Schleck was runner up in last year’s Le Tour De France and from recent competitions has proven he hasn’t lost his form. Andy Schleck
3) Cadel Evans- The Australian cycling great will certainly be a huge chance to win this year’s Le Tour De France title. The former world champion was runner up in 2008 and having suffered a broken elbow that ruined last year’s chances will have certainly increase his ambition to be crowned this year’s Le Tour De France champion. Cadel Evans
4) Riccardo Ricco- The controversial Italian cyclist is back after being banned for a positive reading of a prohibited substance in the 2008 Le Tour De France. Prior to this he was establishing himself as a true contender in all stage events and will definitely be a title contender this year. Riccardo Ricco
5) Vincenzo Nibali- ‘The Shark’ will be amongst the finalist in this year’s Le Tour De France after showing the world he is still in top form finishing third in this year’s Giro d’Italia. The former Vuelta a Espana champion has not performed as well in Le Tour as the he has in the other Grand Tours, but will definitely prove himself in this year’s Le Tour De France. Vincenzo Nibali