For a more effortless and secure experience on our site, please consider updating your browser
Sell Your Bike

Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic 2013 Results

January 04, 2013
Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic 2013 Results


18 year old Caleb Ewan has won the Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic against a strong field of elite cyclists over a 3 day battle. Whilst most 18 year olds would be enjoying their New Years Days nursing hangovers, Ewan was out on his bike, competing against an all-star field including international tour riders Koen De Kort and Luke Durbridge, national representatives (including the Great Britain National Team), and other talented up and coming riders.
Ewan showed his stellar performance last year was no fluke, hitting the Geelong Ritchie Boulevard course with pace on day 1 from an early breakaway, assisted by team-mate Jonathan Cantwell, and held strong on Day 2 sticking with the lead group for the majority of the race, taking the yellow jersey home both evenings and maintaining his form on Day 3 to cross the line in 5th place, to secure the overall win.
Caleb will be spending his season riding with Australia's World Tour Academy squad in Europe and is setting his sights on the World Champs in Italy later this year.
Thanks to Mitchelton Bay Cycling Classic for hosting yet another great cycling event we all look forward to on the calendar.  
Final results are listed below, however you can find all results at the Bay Cycling Classic website here.
1 Caleb Ewan - Bikebug
2 Greg Henderson - Degani Bakery Café
3 Mitchell Docker - Orica GreenEDGE
4 Jen Mouris - Orica GreenEDGE
5 Graham Briggs - GBR National Team
6 Luke Durbridge - Orica GreenEDGE
7 Harry Carpenter - Team SASI
8 Kristian House - Rapha Condor JLT
9 Leigh Howard - Orica GreenEDGE
10 - Shaun Mccarthy - Team Budget Forklifts
1 Melissa Hoskins - Orica GreenEDGE - AIS
2 Peta Mullens - Anytime Fitness Trek
3 Kimberly Wells - Specialized Securitor
4 Tiffany Cromwell - Orica GreenEDGE - AIS
5 Nicole Whitburn - Liv/Giant
6 Gracie Elvin - Aus